fiction in english

I started writing in English during the Clarion Workshop I attended in San Diego in the Summer of 2014. I have continued writing in Spanish intermittently, but for various reasons I feel more comfortable writing in my second language.

NOVELS

A gothic supernatural novel in the vein of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, Alice in Wonderland and Sarah Waters.

London, 1901. After the death of Queen Victoria the city heaves with the uncanny and the eerie. S√©ances are held and the dead are called upon from darker realms. Samuel Moncrieff, recovering from a recent tragedy of his own, meets Helena Walton-Cisneros, one of London’s most reputed mediums. But Helena is not what she seems… Soon she’s enlisted by the elusive Lady Matthews to solve a twenty-year-old mystery: the disappearance of her three stepdaughters who vanished without a trace on the Norfolk Fens.

But the Fens are a liminal land, where folk tales and dark magic still linger. With locals that speak of devilmen and catatonic children found on the Broads, and after unveiling a possible ecological connection to the vanishing, Helena finds the answer to the mystery leads back to where it started: Samuel Moncrieff.

  • THE SWIMMERS. A fable for the Future. Novella¬†(forthcoming, Titan Books, Autumn 2020)

  SHORT STORY COLLECTION

‘Intriguing and illuminating’, Jeff VanderMeer

These stories explore place and landscape at different stages of decay, positioning them as fighting grounds for death and renewal. From dystopian Andalusia to Scotland or the Norfolk countryside, they bring together monstrous insects, ghostly lovers, soon-to-be extinct species, unexpected birds, and interstellar explorers, to form a coherent narrative about loss and absence.

EDITED COLLECTION

  • An Invite to Eternity. Tales of Nature Disturbed. Co-edited with Gary Budden (Calque Press, September 2019)

SELECTED SHORT FICTION

  • “One, Two, Three”, in¬†The Shadow Booth, Vol. 4 (2019)
  • “Nox Una”, in¬†The Silent Garden, a Journal of Esoteric Fabulism¬†(Undertow Publications, 2018)
  • “Mrs. Fox”, in¬†LossLit (November 2017), edited by Aki Schilz and Kit Caless.
  • “Pink Footed”,¬†EcoPunk! Speculative Tales of Radical Futures¬†(Ticonderoga Publications, 2017), edited by Liz Grzyb and Cat Sparks
  • “The ravisher, the thief”,¬†Barcelona Tales¬†(NewCon Press, 2016), edited by Ian Whates.
  • “Stones”,¬†SuperSonic¬†(October-November 2016).
  • “Orange Dogs”,¬†Weird Fiction Review (October 2015). Reprinted in¬†Year’s Best Weird Fiction¬†(vol. 3) (Undertow Publications, 2016), edited by Simon Strantzas and Michael Kelly. Translated into Italian by Francesco Verso in¬†Antropocene. L’umanit√† come forza¬†geologica¬†(Future Fiction, 2018)
  • “Black Isle”,¬†Spanish Women of Wonder¬†(Palabaristas, 2016). Reprinted in¬†Supersonic Mag #1 (April 2015).
  • “Frozen Planet”,¬†Apex Mag Special International Issue¬†#76 (September 2015).
  • “In a glass, darkly”, The Best of Spanish Steampunk (March 2015).